Good Design: The Ozark Trail 1-Person Backpacking Tent

In the following paragraphs I share just a few design features that, in my opinion, make this a well-designed product. If you need a large pack, or are heading on a days-long adventure, this pack won’t work for you. While this pack won’t work for everyone, it’s a practical size for day trips, light travelers, and kids. Join Outside+ to get access to exclusive content, 1,000s of training plans, and more. If you’re searching east of the Rockies for stunning scenery, technical terrain, and a long hike option sans the AT crowds, this is your pick. If you’re looking for a daypack, or a carry-on that fits everywhere, this is the deal.

Walmart had a small section of packs and for the most part I was satisfied. I decided to get this one for a light hike I was going to be doing while camping. For the second overnight hike in which I used the pack, I left the hammock at home and stuffed an REI Stratus insulated pad and lightweight bivy inside.

I did have a few inches along the edge for some clothes, a water bottle, and a headlamp, but that could have been made wider with a narrower sleeping pad. Having a separate rain fly for a 2- or 3- person tent makes sense because multiple people can split up the weight a little easier on longer hikes. With a 1-person tent, that doesn’t really make as much sense.

Trail maps are free to print at home or are available for purchase at the online store. If you’re on a multi-day hike, toilet paper and a cathole shovel are necessities. When you have to answer nature’s call, make sure to stay at least 200 yards away from a water source and bury any solid waste at least 6 inches deep. Further south, you can find Klepzig Mill, a historic building constructed nearly 100 years ago along the banks of Rocky Creek.

“I was surprised that Missouri could have a wilderness that still gives a feeling of solitude. I was also surprised by the amount of trail maintenance on such a ‘less talked about’ trail,” Tils said. This was day nine ozark trail chair of my 16-day thru-hike of the Ozark Trail (OT). This article presents an idea that has high influenced my way of thinking about design. The article is centered on ideation and focuses primarily on how to do it well.

I did instantly notice the difference of carrying a lighter bag. I also don’t really prefer single compartment stuff bags, but, this works for what I need. Before purchasing this pack I used a more traditionally styled, and heavier, backpack for daily walks. I recently attended a seminar that explained the major difference of carrying lighter gear while outdoors. I drooled over all the lightweight packs from the major manufacturers for a few years. There’s no way I can justify paying five times more for something that might carry just as well.

I might actually pick up another for my son to use. I also use a Marmot 20 liter pack which does have a thin hipbelt, but it is more limited space-wise and weighs a couple of ounces more. I’ve carried it in bad weather, including rain and snow. Some days this bag was heavier than I would have chosen it to be.

The route extends from the St. Louis metropolitan area southwest through the Ozarks. Trailspace’s community of gear reviewers has field-tested and rated the top daypacks. He averaged 25 miles ozark trail chair per day, with his longest clocking in at 32 miles. “The AT, PCT, and CDT have a higher profile, but not many people can take three to five months out of their lives to do a thru-hike.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started